Close Menu


Illinois Institute of Technology is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

Higher Learning Commission
230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500
Chicago, IL 60604

HLC Accreditation 2016 website
Download the 2016 HLC Reaffirmation Letter

About Accreditation

Illinois Institute of Technology, formed by the merger of Armour Institute and Lewis Institute in 1940, first received accreditation in 1941. Its most recent affirmation of accreditation occurred in the year 2016. 

In the United States, regional accreditation agencies are recognized by the U.S. Department of Education to accredit degree-granting colleges and universities. There are six regions of the U.S. in which regional agencies operate. The regional accreditation agencies have similar standards for accrediting colleges and universities.

Regional accreditation validates the quality of an institution as a whole and evaluates multiple aspects of an institution ranging from its academic offerings, governance and administration, mission, finances, and resources.

The Higher Learning Commission is a regional accreditation agency that accredits degree-granting institutions of higher education that are based in the 19-state North Central region of the United States. Institutions that the Commission accredits are evaluated against the Commission's Criteria for Accreditation, a set of standards that institutions must meet to receive and/or maintain accredited status. The accreditation process is based on a system of peer review, with approximately 1,300 educators from institutions of higher education serving as peer reviewers.

Specialized Accreditation

In addition to comprehensive, university-wide accreditation, Illinois Tech鈥檚 individual academic units and programs may fall under the purview of specialized/program accreditors. Such accreditation includes:

Armour College of Engineering programs accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET:
Aerospace Engineering, B.S.
Architectural Engineering, B.S.
Biomedical Engineering, B.S.
Chemical Engineering, B.S.
Civil Engineering, B.S.
Computer Engineering, B.S.
Electrical Engineering, B.S.
Materials Science and Engineering, B.S.
Mechanical Engineering, B.S.

Chicago-Kent College of Law is accredited by the American Bar Association.

College of Architecture NAAB-accredited programs include the Bachelor of Architecture and Master of Architecture.

College of Science B.S. in Computer Science Program is accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET.

Lewis College of Human Sciences Clinical Psychology Program is fully accredited by the American Psychological Association (APA).

Lewis College of Human Sciences Rehabilitation Counseling Psychology Program is fully accredited by the Council on Rehabilitation Education (CORE).

School of Applied Technology Bachelor of Information Technology and Management program is accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET.

Stuart School of Business is accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) International.

English Language Services (ELS) is accredited by the Commission on English Language Program Accreditation for the period April 2018 through April 2023.